Back at it

5 01 2016

I love you Blogs and Coffee (5)

Rather than make an excuse for the hiatus from my blog, I’m just going to say I’m back and I’ll try to do better. Sometimes, life comes before blogging.

 

Updates on the Homefront

Over the years, I’ve documented my hubby’s struggles with Bipolar, Depression, and Anxiety. The last couple of years have been extremely challenging as we have been actively working on his treatment. I feel like we’ve turned a major corner in the last six months, and I’m hoping he’ll remain stable for a long, long time.

 

Have you seen anyone with a semicolon tattoo? This mark represents mental health struggles and the importance of suicide prevention, and is a reminder that a person suffering from mental illness could have chosen to end their story, but chose not to. It’s a powerful conversation starter about an important topic. Learn more here.

semicolon-tattoo-4-1467c9768b042459cc083ca092fe6b31

As for the kiddos — the Baby is no longer a baby. In fact, she’s now 10 and at the start of puberty, so hormone-induced hilarity is a daily occurrence. She is a straight-A student, Girl Scout, and ballerina, plus she’s hilarious and incredibly kind. The Big Kid, on the other hand, is a 17-year old high school junior. She and I are like oil and vinegar —I think her interests are weird and she thinks I’m impossibly out of touch and could never really understand her. Newsflash, kid. I was 17 once and also thought I was a misunderstood genius. Sigh.

 

Help with Your New Year’s Resolution

If you’re trying to clean up your eating habits (and you probably should), head over to Buzzfeed Life and check out their 7 Day Clean Eating Challenge. All of the recipes and instructions are there, too, which is extremely helpful.

 

On Our Plates Tonight

The Baby and I are both dealing with sinus ickiness, plus it’s 20ish degrees out, so something spicy and warming is in order. Plus, I have a ton to do tonight, so a labor-intensive dish is not going to happen.  Instead, I’m making this Quick Ramen Bowl. I may even add the egg. I’m madcap like that.

Quick Ramen Bowl 2

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

