One Day I Will Have My Act Together

14 10 2009

If you have been reading my blog for any length of time, you know that I have been out of work since January, although between freelancing and blogging, I have never been so busy. Thankfully, I know myself well enough to know that this working-at-home thing is just not for me, especially when I have an eager 4 year old constantly clamboring for attention and it usually has something to do with ballet, artwork, or Barbie.

I'm distracting? Nahhhhh!

I'm distracting? Nahhhhh!

Don’t get me wrong. I love my daughter, but it’s also hard to work when you are constantly under siege and basically not allowed to finish a thought, let alone an article. Yeah, I know, it’s called being a mommy.

Frustrated, though I may be, I get the occasional moment of reflection and I think I may well be both ADD and OCD at the same time. Really, it’s the only explanation I can muster for the piles of projects that are mounting around me. One day, I will be a grown-up and actually finish what I start. Promise!

Speaking of Unfinished Business…

Last week, I visited the Dublin Village Tavern with my Tastecasting peeps. All in all, it was a fantastic night, despite my being uncomfortably full afterward (damn their hospitality!). Read the official review here. Tonight, we’re visiting the Top Steakhouse and I swear I will actually write a review in this space. It could even happen tonight – I’m kinda madcap like that.

Bangers and Mash at the DVT

Bangers and Mash at the DVT

Just to clarify – Tastecasters are not food critics. Our job is to build awareness, announce grand openings, introduce new menu items, distribute special offers, and encourage people to visit various establishments. We are treated to a free meal in exchange for this effort.

Wild About Harry

I have had a virtual love affair with Harry Connick Jr. since I saw “When Harry Met Sally” for the first time. I fell in love with my college boyfriend to that soundtrack and have followed Harry ever since. I have always loved his dreamy vocal style, loved him as an actor – especially for his role on “Will and Grace” – and loved him even more for his efforts to restore his beloved New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina.

Now, my man has released “Your Songs,” which is a collection of modern classics with Harry’s special twist. Truly, this album is sheer magic.

Harry

Want to Get Your Hands on a Copy? Here’s How.

Tell me your love story. I want to know how you and your honey first met and knew it was for real. Post your story in the comments and I’ll randomly select the lucky recipient of Harry’s latest album Friday night. Winner will be informed via email.

Good luck!

(Note: Thanks to One2One Network for providing me with two copies of the disc – one to review and one to give away)

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 10 2009
Tom

If you like Harry’s album, you might also like Michael Buble’s new album “Crazy Love”. You can download either one for less than $2 at gomusicnow.com .

16 10 2009
guccigirl99

Here, here, Tom! I do have Michael Buble’s latest and it’s dreamy!

15 10 2009
sarah b

I met my husband when I was working for a church in Africa for a year. He was a member of the church and we quickly became best of friends. We didnt actually start dating until a month before I had to leave, so the majority of our relationship was long distance dating. not fun, but absence made our hearts grow fonder!

10 11 2009
Jim S

My wife first saw me kissing my first college girlfriend, and later lived with another of my girlfriends (therefore the lost of leverage for me forever). We hung out through a succession of each others relationships but when her last boyfriend sent the wrong letters in the wrong envelopes to her and at least one other girl (he is a Marine) from oversees, suddenly we were together. However, she had to go visit the Marine to explain what he had done when he came back, and the way she did it also gave no doubt to what would happen if I tried to run around on her(That, however, is not to be shared here!). Did I mention she is a redhead? Meh, thin line between crazy and passion!

Leave a Reply

