Political Correctness Run Amok?

1 08 2008

I don’t know if you follow Advertising Age like I do (well, I have to!), but the latest ad under fire comes from our friends at Snickers.

Seriously, people are all worked up, saying that this is a direct attack on the gay community. I, for one, take this as it was intended – entertainment that sells. First of all, Mr T = AWESOME, pure and simple. Sheer genius to bring this icon of the 80’s into the next generation. Second, I applaud any and all attempts to lampoon speed walking. Finally, and this really irritates me, why do people feel the need to look for something by which to be offended? Isn’t it time for people to get over themselves and just have a laugh?

Tonight, the ladies next door are having yet another cornhole tournament. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – no one should love cornhole that much. It’s been four nights in a row. Enough already! I’m about to kidnap their scarlet and grey cornhole boards and burn them! Pipe down, already!

Finally, Hubs has channeled his inner Lance Armstrong and is now totally into his new bike. Yay!!! He’s sure it will make him buff and happy in no time. I’ll settle for happy!

Speaking of Hubs, he always gives me a hard time about the house “smelling like a Hallmark store” whenever I burn candles. Sound familiar?

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 08 2008
Lisa

Part of me is dying to know what a cornhole tournament is. Another part prefers to remain innocent.

2 08 2008
guccigirl99

Cornhole is a game where you toss a beanbag into a board with a hole. Seriously, that’s all there is to it and I’ve heard it’s fun when you’ve been drinking. It’s big at tailgate parties. I, personally, don’t see the draw, but whatever…

Leave a Reply

