Off the Wagon, Dang It!

26 07 2008

Yep, I’m smoking again. But, before you scold me, can I just say that I picked the absolute WORST week ever to quit smoking? Hubs is still going through his whatever and he’s trying to figure out who and what he wants to be when he grows up…between bitching about his job, bitching about money, and giving up in general because of the hopelessness of it all. So, really, what do I do? Pick a calmer time to try to quit? Or keep up with my current quit effort with the help of my soon-to-be-BFF, Nicorette? I’m just so tired of being angry with him all the time – had he actually put in a decent effort in finding a job, we wouldn’t be in this mess. He’s always looking for a quick fix, rather than weighing his decisions carefully and realizing that today’s quick fix could quickly become a nightmare in the span of a few short weeks.

Today, I was home with the kidlets and I’m amazed there wasn’t a homicide. The SD still hasn’t grasped the fact that she’s the kid and that we’re the adults. She helps herself to our stuff and ruins it, tries to tell us where she’s going, rather than asking. But the coup de gras would have to have come this afternoon. After I made her ask if she could go to her friend’s house (for the record, I said yes, but only AFTER she cleaned her room), she huffed up to her room to clean. After she’d been upstairs for about 3 hours, I went up to see what was going on. She didn’t do anything. So, she was grounded today – no computer, movies, or leaving the house for any unsanctioned activity. I even had her cleaning the baseboards and windows to get rid of dog snot. Sadly, I don’t think she’s ever going to realize that she’s not in charge, which always makes for interesting power struggles.

Right now, I’m baking banana bread and it smells soooo good!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 07 2008
Elizabeth (M and Ts Mom)

SMOKE ON SISTA! I don’t but to deal with a temperamental hubby…desperate times call for desperate measures! (not the response you were looking for?..hey, I’m married to one of those ones too..)

31 07 2008
diabolina

ugh i pick up smoking now and again too. ugh and i think I am your hubs at the moment. reassure him that you aren’t going anywhere. that’s what mr. d does and it helps. fleetingly.

Leave a Reply

