It’s All About The Baby

19 06 2008

The Baby has had a big week. She’s been going to Vacation Bible School this week and she’s absolutely exhausted. Every night, she comes home, starving and trying to fight off sleep. She passed out tonight mid-sentence, trying to tell me about the animals she’ll see tomorrow at the zoo. She’s tired, but so damned happy. I love seeing the grin on her Oreo-smeared little face every night as she tries to remember what craft they made tonight and she gets confused between her school friends and her church friends. Imagine the leaps my heart makes every night as she trudges up the stairs to her room, sleepily singing the song they sang tonight at the closing assembly. Or the way I smile when she asks about the VBS mascot and when she can meet him (this year, it’s a flamingo named Flame). Tomorrow’s going to be a rough day. Her school is going to the zoo. Then she’ll go home with my friend (and ex-boyfriend from high school), S-Dawg, and hang out until Hubs can pick her up. Then, I’ll meet them at home and we’ll all go to VBS. She’ll be a mess, but a really happy one.

I’m ready to throw my laptop out the window. I was working on writing something for a client and the thing crashed four times, so I have written and re-written the same thing many times over and it’s still not done. I imagine that by the time we put it together Monday, it will be a Clio-winning masterpiece! In the meantime, I have fantasies of going Office Space on the laptop!

Had a major heart-to-heart with Hubs tonight and I think he may have finally have found his direction. He finally seems enthusiastic, but, honestly, I’m not sure if it’s desperation or if he’s finally realizing I was right all along. Seriously, I’m not being a bitch here. I just want to help him get on a path – any path – and do something with his life, rather than drift along, trying to figure out what he wants to do with his life. It kind of makes me sad to see him finally let go of his dream of teaching, but, really, aren’t there several opportunities for teaching in everyday life, as long as we look for them?

Anyway, I’m exhausted. Hubs has to work tomorrow morning at 7, which means The Baby and I are on our own in the morning. However, at least we’ll have electricity this time!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

