Things I’m Obsessed With…For Today, Anyway

18 06 2008

Design.

I recently discovered my love of Brocade Home and I can’t get enough of their design blog. The website is truly amazing. Certainly French-infused and definitely inspired by fashion. Here are some of the latest photos from the design blog. I’ve already printed a few and have them tacked up near my desk.

Things I want to do with my life.

1. Help Hubs find a job. Yes, it’s about the money, but it’s also about helping the guy find his place in the world and to get on the path he’s supposed to be on.

2. Raise an amazing kid. I admit it, The Baby is the most amazing and perfect child ever born. Sue me. I can only hope that she grows up to be as amazing at 30 as she is at 3.

3. Ditch the crappy clothes and become fabulous, in general, before I’m 40. ‘Nuff said.

4. Travel. How sad is it that I’ve only been to two countries other than the U.S? My list of places I want to see before I die is growing by the day!

5. Stop feeling like everyone else has a better life than I do. Again, ’nuff said!

Cooking.

I’m on a cooking tear. I think it’s because I want to lose weight in the least painful way possible and I’m tired of not feeling good because I don’t eat right. Yes, I mostly eat the right foods, although too much of them and I don’t make time to work out (does chasing a 3 year old count as exercise?), but I also eat a lot of processed foods because they’re convenient. Let’s face it, when I’m dead tired, it’s a lot easier to pop a Lean Pocket into my lunch bag, rather than go to the trouble of chopping veggies and making a big salad.

Really, I had the best of intentions this week. Sunday, for Fathers’ Day, I made an old favorite for Hubs:

Sweet Pepper Stew

Extra virgin olive oil (twice around the pan)

1 medium red onion, julienned

Garlic

4 peppers – 1 green, 1 red, 1 yellow, and 1 orange, julienned

2 T capers

1 14 ounce can diced tomatoes (I like to use Italian seasoned)

salt and pepper to taste

In dutch oven, heat olive oil and garlic (use your judgment. I use about a clove, but some people like extra garlic). Saute onion until translucent. Add peppers and cook until soft – roughly 10 minutes. Add capers and tomatoes. Cover and simmer for about 25 minutes.

This stew is fabulous on its own as a light meal with some crusty Italian bread and a great red wine. I’ve also been known to reduce it and add broiled chicken, and serve over pasta. Next time I make this, I will probably add either andouille or chorizo and see what happens. I’d also like to add shrimp sometime, but I doubt that will happen anytime soon as Hubs hates shrimp.

Writer’s Block.

Lately, this has been a part of my life, like it or not. I’ve been trying to write something for the past day or so and the words are just not coming to me. Of course, at this point, frustration is making it that much harder. Aaaargh!

Stupid Movies.

For whatever reason, I can’t seem to get enough of Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story, especially the quotes. Try to work some of these into a conversation tomorrow:

“Ouchtown, population: you, bro!”

“Pepper needs new shorts!”

“You’re about as useless as a poopy-flavored lollipop!”

“I’ve had better runs in my shorts!”

“Go, you crazy son of a bitch, gooooooooo!”

At this point, I’m working on my list of greatest stupid movies of all times. Any and all suggestions are welcome!
That’s about it for now. Here’s to a great rest of the week!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

