I’m Melting!!!

8 06 2008

Ugh! Can I just say (again) how much I hate summer? I hate feeling like I’m melting when I get out of the car, walk a flight of stairs up from the parking garage, and then bolt to the back door of my office. I hate feeling forced to do things outdoors just because it’s summer. There is nothing that makes me crankier than walking around feeling all hot and nasty with my clothes stuck to me. Plus, once I get into the AC, I’m then wearing clammy clothes. Yech!!!

However, I did have the pleasure of being invited to a cookout today. Somehow, an ice cold bottle of a really good microbrew makes me forget all about the nasty, nasty heat. So, I took my old standby, redskin potato salad.  For the record, I do not measure when I cook as I think cooking is a sensory experience, and not an exact science. I do, however, measure when I bake as there is some science involved, but, I digress…  This is a bit more labor-intensive that I like to get this time of year, but the rave reviews of this none-too-diet-friendly recipe are totally worth it. Anyway, here’s my recipe for redskin potato salad:

1 bag (5#) redskin potatoes, diced into bite-sized pieces

2 small red onions, finely diced

2-3 ribs celery, diced

6 hard-boiled eggs, diced

Mayonnaise

Sour Cream

Dijon mustard (or spicy brown, if you want a little less bite)

Salt

Pepper

Dill

Cook potatoes until fork tender. Drain and rinse with cold water. Cool and add remaining vegetables. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour. Add mayo, sour cream, mustard, salt, pepper, and dill until you have achieved creamy perfection (in other words, you’ll just know when you’ve gotten it right!). Chill for at least a couple of hours before taking anywhere. I also think that this salad is even better the day after you make it.

For whatever reason, when the weather is hazy, hot, and hell-like, I have an uncontrollable craving for fruit. And then I stumbled across these little beauties.

Seriously, how easy would these be to make? Would you add paraffin to the chocolate? I’ll have to think about it, but these are definitely on my to-do short list!

And how sad is it that I have a to-do short list AND long list? When did I get this anal?

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 07 2008
The Apron Queen

They both look totally yummy! I love potato salad w/ the red potatoes. And you can’t go wrong with strawberries and choclate.

Stop by for a few bites of My Big Fat Greek Salad: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com/2008/03/my-big-fat-greek-salad_21.html

8 07 2008
Mrs. L

The potato salad looks yummy. Wonder if it would be weird for me to have the potato salad AND those wonderful looking strawberries as a dinner meal? 🙂

8 07 2008
guccigirl99

Sounds like a plan to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

