Yep, I’m Becoming One of THOSE Women!

20 04 2008

Ever since the hubs got a new job, we’ve been in a desperate search for daycare. I’ve known for a while that she needs more than in-home daycare. She’s way too smart and, for all we know, may even be planning world domination as we speak, so the search began. I have spoken to way too many daycare centers this week and they either don’t have immediate openings or else they want a huge deposit (and maybe even a kidney) to hold her place in a class. For some reason, shelling out $200 per week AND handing over an extra $500 seems to a bit excessive. Then, I found THE place! It’s really close to my office and the staff is incredibly nice! They’ll be evaluating her Monday morning as I’m standing there, weeping that I’m handing my baby over to a group of strangers. I’m already getting a little sad about it. My baby’s starting school Monday. There, I said it.

So the hubs turned 40 this week and pretty much insisted that I treat his birthday like it was just any other day. No hoopla, no presents, nothing. Huh. I have had to explain to him that just because he’s that way, he needs to not expect everyone else to suffer from that same affliction (for the record, my birthday is next month, and I fully intend to celebrate it. Quite possibly even for a month or so!). I am, hoxever, considering an ambush celebration of some sort. You know, make a cake while he’s out, etc, but I’m not sure how well it would go over. Incredibly sweet, yes. Appreciated, I’m not sure. In any case, here is the recipe. I call it “OMG Cake” because it is THAT good!

2 cups sugar
1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup cocoa
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
½ cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water
“Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Frosting

Heat oven to 350. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans. Sift together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil, and vanilla; beat on medium speed of electric mixer for 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.

Cupcakes: Line muffin cups (2 ½ inches in diameter) with paper liners. Heat oven to 350. Fill cups 2/3 full with batter. Bake 22 to 25 minutes. Cool completely. Frost. Makes about 30 cupcakes.

“Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Frosting

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter or margarine
2/3 cup cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount of additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla.

Makes about 2 cups frosting.

Not much else on the agenda for the weekend – mani/pedi, hiding from the children, and maybe some highlights.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

