Love, Semi-Homemade Italian Style!

27 03 2008

Monday, the hubs was cleaning out the fridge and came upon some leftover stuffing. Rather than risk him throwing it out or forget about it and let it go moldy in a month or so, I decided to put it to good use. Besides, I really didn’t want to have to wrestle him to the ground again to foist the stuffing from his open mouth AGAIN! So, instead, I got creative. My recipe is adapted from a Kraft one and you’ll notice that, as usual, I don’t give quantities, so bear with me!

chicken.jpg

Bruschetta-n-Cheese Stuffed Chicken

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Leftover stuffing

1 can diced tomatoes, drained

Basil

Mozzerella cheese

Italian dressing

Pound chicken to 1/4″ thickness and set aside. In a separate bowl, mix together stuffing*, tomatoes, basil (I used dried basil and used about 4 shakes), and cheese (about two or three handfuls). The stuffing will be very moist and fragrant. Spoon stuffing onto chicken and roll up. Place seam side down in baking dish and drizzle with Italian dressing (the original recipe calls for Roasted Red Pepper Parmesan dressing, but, really, who keeps that in the house?). Bake for 40 min at 350. Remove chicken from over and top with additional cheese. Bake for 5 min or until cheese on top is melted and bubbly. I served with green beans and the combination was divine! PS: this is even better the second day and makes a completely drool-worthy lunch for work! I may make this for company sometime. Even the hubs, who can be a complete PITA when it comes to trying new things, really liked this!

*The original recipe says that you are to combine uncooked stuffing with the tomatoes in their liquid. I, personally, don’t like it that way as it renders the stuffing completely mushy, but if that’s what you like, then so be it!

Work has been really good lately. I’ve been busy and just happy, which is a good thing and something that, quite frankly, I had almost forgotten  could even exist! The first commercial that I wrote has started airing this week, so I am totally revelling in all my geeky glory!

I was reading the NY Times online, as I do pretty much every day, and came across an article about food shopping in NYC for 99 cents. The guy challenged a chef to go to this horrible-looking discount grocery store (Jake’s, I think?) and to create meals using only the products he found there. He managed to create five meals and three desserts. Impressive, huh? I guess that goes to show that you don’t have to have all of the gourmet and organic items to do creative things in the kithen! It’s actually inspired my girls and I to head to the nearest Big Lots (Hey! Don’t laugh! They have food!) and do a similar thing. Maybe even host our own Iron Chef for Tightwads! I’ve been thinking about this all day and I think it sounds like a lot of fun! Gawd! I need to get out of the house more often!

The hubs and baby are both sick with a cold. However, the difference between the two is amazing. The baby is still running around at full strength as if she didn’t have a cold. The only difference now is that she runs even faster through the house because she doesn’t want mommy to catch her and make her blow her nose. Hubs, on the other hand, is miserable. Tired, run-down, and phlegmmy. Sexy, huh?

That’s about it for now. I need to pick things up around the house before my next commercial is on the air. Sadly, I looked at the schedule and I know exactly when my commercials are running, so I’ll be in front of the TV for the next six months like a crazy shut-in flipping from channel to channel, in hopes of catching a glimpse of my own brilliance!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

