Back to Basics

17 03 2008

Yesterday, I posted about baking blueberry muffins and searching for the ultimate recipe. After scouring various websites and finding recipes using orange zest and lemon peel, it occurred to me that maybe the classics aren’t so bad, afterall. They were good enough for our mothers and grandmothers. Besides, I really was not in the mood to make a run to the grocery store this morning (my stomach was rumbling and the kiddos were threatening to kill each other over some toy), so, instead, I tried a recipe I found on the Food Network website.

muffins.jpg

Blueberry Muffins

Recipe Courtesy of Sara Moulton
Show: Cooking Live
Episode: Cook Along 53

 
3/4 cup butter
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup milk
1 egg
1 3/4 cup sifted flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup blueberries
1 tablespoon flour
Cream butter and sugar. Add milk and egg and beat until smooth. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Add to creamed mixture. Mix until moistened. Toss blueberries with flour and fold into batter. Fill a well-greased muffin pan 2/3 full with the batter. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

This recipe is perfect! A true classic and the kids loved them (my stepdaughter ate eight of these little beauties!). Admittedly, I thought it was kind of strange to toss the berries in flour, but to my amazement, it locks the juice inside the berries and they don’t bleed all over the batter. I will definitely have to make this recipe again in the near future.
Tomorrow begins another work week. I think I have to go to a meeting at my former employer’s office, which fills me with dread. Some of those people were truly horrible and the work was both mind-numbing and soul-sucking.

Went shopping today for some pretty things for spring (ok, that and I don’t have anything green for St. Patty’s Day) and walked out of there with two pairs of white pants, a silky fitted celery green polo and a really pretty dusty rose sweater. As usual, the hubs did far better than I did: he got three pairs of pants, 2 t-shirts, and another shirt, I think. And I got a gorgeous airy white dress with little pink roses and a long sash for the baby. When I held the dress up to her, her little eyes began to dance and I can already see her in my mind twirling around in the dress.

Actions

Information

One response

17 03 2008
t-shirts » Blog Archive » Back to Basics

[…] Read the rest of this great post here […]

Leave a Reply

